Tuesday June 25th was the primary runoff in South Carolina for 13 races across the state. Below is a link for all the races but here is a recap of ones of note.


One of the most watched runoffs was between Senator Katrina Shealy of District 23 and newcomer Carlise Kennedy.  Shealy lost the runoff with 37.53% of the vote to Kennedys 62.47%. Shealy is the current chair of the Senate Family and Veterans’ Services Committee, and she also serves on the Corrections and Penology Committee, Finance Committee, Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee, and Rules Committee. She is SC’s longest- serving female senator. Carlisle Kennedy is a trial attorney in Lexington, SC and has never held public office. Kennedy is the presumptive winner of the seat because there is no Democrat filed to run.

Senator Billy Garrett won his runoff by just over 1,000 votes for District 10.

Representative Jason Elliott won his special election runoff in another tight race for his bid for the Senate seat of retiring Senator Dwight Loftis in Distinct 6.


Former House member Jerry Govan who served in the House from 1992 until 2022, won his runoff for District 93. This is the seat that was held by Representative Russell Ott who ran, and won, for Senate against Senator Dick Harpootlian.


Sheri Biggs won her runoff to secure the Republican nomination for House District 3, the seat formerly held by Rep. Jeff Duncan.